Talks with Jonathan Jones and special guests

Various dates, 1–2pm

In this special series, Jonathan talks in association with untitled (maraong manaóuwi), and invites leading Indigenous and non-Indigenous Australians to discuss the themes and issues raised by the artwork.

Friday 21 February

Uncle Allen Madden, Gadigal elder and a leader of the Redfern community in Sydney

Saturday 22 February

Dr Peter Yanada McKenzie, Eora/Anaiwan artist, musician, teacher and researcher from the La Perouse Aboriginal community of Sydney

Sunday 23 February

Dr John Maynard, Worimi historian from the Port Stephens region of NSW and Professor of Indigenous Education and Research at the University of Newcastle, NSW

Thursday 27 February

Anthony ‘Ace’ Bourke, Sydney-based writer, historian and curator with a focus on Aboriginal art and Australian colonial art

Friday 28 February

Lorraine Connelly-Northey, a leading Waradgerie (Wiradjuri) artist based in NSW

Saturday 29 February

Wesley Enoch AM, Noonuccal Nuugi playwright and theatre director, current Artistic Director of Sydney Festival

Sunday 1 March

Lauren Booker, a Dharug and Japanese researcher at the University of Technology Sydney, focusing on provenance, repatriation and issues of archival preservation

Thursday 5 March

Professor Heidi Norman, a Gamilaroi researcher at the University of Technology Sydney, in the field of Australian Aboriginal political history

Friday 6 March

Dr Amanda Porter, Yuin lawyer and researcher in the areas of racialisation and criminalisation, Indigenous legal issues, youth justice, police powers, decarceration strategies and social justice lawyering

Saturday 7 March

Claire Coleman, award-winning Wirlomin-Noongar writer of fiction, essays and poetry

Sunday 8 March

Dr Kiera Lindsey, award-winning historian, University of Technology Sydney

Thursday 12 March

Dr Ross Gibson, Centenary Professor of Creative and Cultural Research at the University of Canberra

Friday 13 March

Dr Jeanine Leane, a Wiradjuri writer, teacher and academic at the University of Melbourne

Saturday 14 March

Lorena Allam, award-winning Gamilaraay and Yuwalaraay journalist and broadcaster, and The Guardian’s Indigenous affairs editor

Sunday 15 March

Aunty Glendra Stubbs, a Wiradjuri elder who has worked in a range of services to address the intergenerational impacts of the removal of Aboriginal children from their families and communities; elder in residence at the University of Technology Sydney

When & Where

Various dates, 1pm–2pm:
Fri 21 – Sun 23 Feb
Thurs 27 Feb – Sun 1 March
Thurs 5 – Sun 8 March
Thurs 12 – Sun 15 March

Event information

Free event, no bookings required

Hyde Park Barracks

10AM-5PM

Become a member

Enjoy exclusive member events, presale tickets and more.

Join now