Susannah Place opened as a 'warts and all' house museum in 1993, but it took until 2006 to finally throw all of its door open to visitors. Curator Anna Cossu explains who lived here, what makes this place is important and why it's forever a 'work in progress'.
Fragments of a 1946 Greek-American Tribune newspaper, olive seeds in the kitchen hearth and names and dates in Rate Assessment books were the only clues to the existence of a Greek family that lived at 60 Gloucester Street, The Rocks.
Marks on walls, evidence of home improvements and remnants of paint, linoleum and wallpapers offer us a glimpse into the lives of the more than 100 families who called Susannah Place home between 1844 and 1990.
Built on a narrow strip of land left over from the Sydney Harbour Bridge construction the King George V Memorial Playground (KGV) was built by the Sydney Municipal Council as a part of a scheme to provide playgrounds in crowded inner city suburbs.
Perched on one of the sandstone ledges that gave The Rocks its name, Susannah Place is a typically English row of ‘two up, two down’ terraces. Between 1844 and 1990, over 100 families called these four terrace houses home, living lives inextricably linked to the vibrant world of the Rocks.