Royal Naval House was built in 1889–90, designed by architect Varney Parkes, and added to by NSW Government Architect Walter Liberty Vernon in 1907. It served as a Royal Australian Navy amenities and accommodation building for 82 years, providing meals and housing for thousands of seamen. Besides sleeping facilities, the building in 1897 also housed reading rooms, dining rooms, billiard rooms and a gymnasium. The premises was referred to as ‘Johnny’s’, the name used by seamen until it closed in 1970. In 1987, work commenced on the $12.5 million reconstruction and renovation of Royal Naval House and Federation Hall in Grosvenor Street to enable the buildings to house the Sydney Futures Exchange. The work involved the reinstatement of the original verandah and courtyard in a new location, and the restoration of the street facades.
The original facade is from the Federation period and the building features stained-glass windows, a stunning glass atrium, and a distinguished stair hall.
Visitors will see the lobby, stair hall, and atrium.
Lobby and atrium.
Talks, tours & more
Priority access for SLM Members
Members get priority access to this building
Show your special Member wristband to gain priority access during Sydney Open.
Royal Naval House's participation in Sydney Open has been made possible by Dexus, Mirvac and Arcadia.